top of page

Indigenous Land Acknowledgment

We would like to acknowledge that the land on which we are located is the traditional territory of the Haudenosaunee* and Anishinaabe* peoples, many of whom continue to live and work today. This territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties and is within the land protected by the Dish With One Spoon Wampum agreement. We recognize and deeply appreciate their historic connection to this place. We recognize the Lake Simcoe-Nottawasaga Treaty of 1818 and respect all of the Nation-to-Nation agreements that have formed relationships with the original inhabitants of Turtle Island. We also recognize the contributions of First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and other Indigenous peoples have made, both in shaping and strengthening this community in particular, and our province and country as a whole.

*Haudenosaunee – This name refers to the Iroquois Confederacy comprising of these Nations: Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora.   
*Anishinaabeg/Anishinaabek/Anishnabek/Anishnaabeg – this name covers Ojibway, Odawa, Algonquin, Potawatomi, Nipissing, Mississaugas, Saulteau, etc... all the Algonkian/Ojibwa Nations.

Find the land you're living on and get a sense of the diversity of Indigenous territories and language:

We will continue to update this acknowledgement as we continue to be conscious of new understandings and learning.

Collingwood Ontario.jpg
bottom of page